Join Now
17 September 2009
Nashville Songwriters Association International to Present Songwriter Awards Oct 18; Toby Keith and Craig Wiseman to Receive Dec

Nashville, Tennessee – The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) will present its annual Songwriter Achievement Awards Sunday, October 18 as part of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation (NaSHOF) evening. NSAI will present the 2009 Songwriter of the Year, Songwriter/Artist of the Year and Song of the Year. In addition, NSAI will present the 10 Songs I Wish I’d Written. These honors are chosen by ballots of NSAI’s professional songwriter members and will be revealed that night.

NSAI will also proudly present the Songwriter/Artist of the Decade and Songwriter of the Decade. Toby Keith is the Songwriter/Artist of the Decade(2000-2009) for his hits ranging from “Courtesy Of The Red, White And Blue (The Angry American)” and “Who's Your Daddy?” to “As Good As I Once Was” and “God Love Her.” He also won two consecutive ACM Entertainer of the Year awards.

Craig Wiseman is the Songwriter of the Decade (2000-2009) for songs such as “The Good Stuff” by Kenny Chesney (2003 ACM Song of the Year), “Believe” by Brooks & Dunn (2006 CMA Song of the Year), “Summertime” by Kenny Chesney and “Live Like You Were Dying” by Tim McGraw.

“These awards are very special honors, not only recognizing continuous hits over the past ten years, but because they are chosen by fellow songwriters,” said NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison.  Craig and Toby have truly earned the respect of their fellow creators and deserve this special recognition."

NaSHOF’s 39th anniversary dinner takes place Sunday, Oct. 18, at the Renaissance Hotel (611 Commerce Street) in downtown Nashville.

The Foundation will induct songwriters Kye Fleming, Mark D. Sanders and late Country music icon Tammy Wynette into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. The AT&T-sponsored event will celebrate the musical contributions of the newest inductees through star-studded performances of some of their biggest hits. Tickets for the event are $200 each, with limited seats available to the public by contacting event director Mark Ford at or 615.256.3354.

About NSAI: The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) is the world’s largest not-for-profit songwriters’ trade organization. Established in 1967, the membership of more than 5,000 spans the United States and seven international countries. For over 40 years, NSAI has been dedicated to protecting the rights of and serving aspiring and professional songwriters in all genres of music. For more information, visit

About NaSHOF: The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. is a non-profit foundation dedicated to honoring and preserving the songwriting legacy of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. The NaSHOF's principal purposes are to educate, archive and celebrate songwriting that is uniquely associated with the Nashville music community.  More information is available at


News Archive